The 5 Pillars of Islam

1. Shahada - Faith in one God

2.Namaz - Prayers 5 times a day.

3. Roza - Fasting in the month of Ramzan.

4. Hajj - Pilgrimage to Mecca.

5. Zakat - Mandatory Charity.

The pillars 1 - 4 all being made for benefiting ones own self. Except the 5th one where a second person is involved.

Kind of trying to teach that you are more important than any other person. Think about yourself first and then probably do something for others.